Teen diaries, practising small talk with my diary?

This excerpt doesn’t relate to my crush story or to my chronic and often crippling anxiety but when I came across it I just thought it too cheesy and quaint to not post.

Aged 12 1/2 and I’m still writing “Dear Diary” like some Americanised automaton.

Teen diary 1994, aged 12, diary was my buddy

 

Obviously I believed I needed to let my current diary know that I would be moving to a new book meaning I saw the invisible diary companion as a fluid entity rather than attached to the book it’s self.

How much better would it be if each book came with it’s own personality and had to be spoken to in an altered way!

If only I had been so inventive and contextual back then.

Leave a Reply

